Skip navigation

6190 Miles and Counting

If one typical carrot at Safeway travels 1800 miles to reach our dinner table, I wonder how far my entire plate of lunch salad travels to Sunnyvale.

  • Arugula, from my own front yard garden. Miles to table:  0.
  • Marvel lettuce, from my own front yard garden. Miles to table: 0.
  • Orange juice & orange peel in dressing, from my neighbor’s backyard tree. Miles to table: 0.
  • Smoked duck breast, from Fabrique Délices and will assume it is sourced from Sonoma, the closest place that raises ducks for foie gras. Miles to table: 90.
  • Olive oil, from Dean & Deluca, milled at San Casciano Val di Pesa, Tuscany. Miles to table: 6100.

 

 So I blew it on the dressing … and I haven’t even counted the Morten’s Kosher Salt.

Leave a Reply

