Skip navigation

Blue Steel

1/2/2011

The 1st time I was at Alembic, I went over its drink menu with the same enthusiasm as Hermione Granger going over her potion book.

Of the 4 drinks we had, Blue Steel made more than an impression.

The constraint use of absinthe (which I substitute with Herbsaint) contributes flavors but not sweetness. The unique aroma of cilantro keeps me aware of the layers in the drink.

Below is what I came up with using what‘s in my liquor cabinet. Makes 2

  • 3oz Pyrat Reserve XO Rum
  • 3/4 oz crème de cassis
  • 1/8 oz Herbsaint
  • 6 drops of Angostura bitter
  • Splash of Old Overholt rye whiskey
  • 1 oz Lemon juice

Bruise the cilantro a little bit before dropping it into the drink.

Leave a Reply

