Skip navigation

Yuzu Old-Fashioned

August 25/26, 2010 (part of Cocktail Chronicle)

When I am in the mood for American whisky, I want an Old-Fashioned. I like its complexity and find the flavors of orange and lemon marry beautifully with bourbon. But making it is a bit of work.

I rarely have oranges at hand unless I plan for it. Not to mention the chopping, the actual muddling of lemon, orange, maraschino cherry, and the extra cleaning, straining they leave behind.

As a mom, I need to expand my repertoire of good AND quick drinks.

Yuzu came to me in a light bulb moment. Its intense bitter orange, citrus flavor makes more than an adequate stand-in and is arguably more interesting. Granted that oranges and lemons are easier to come by and unquestionably cheaper, but I can’t easily go to swanky bars for inventive drinks anymore. $14.95 for 12oz (See Yuzu Friendly) is a deal.

To completely do away with muddling, the maraschino cherry stays only as a garnish.

I have to call this my original.

Inspired by Old-Fashioned in MIXSHAKESTIR (Makes 2):

  • 4 oz (½ C) Maker’s Mark
  • 1 oz (2 tbsp) pure Yuzu juice
  • ½ oz (1 tbsp) simple syrup
  • 6 drops of Angostura bitter
  • 2 maraschino cherries for garnish
3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Cocktail Chronicle « Sunnyvaleglutton's Blog on 27 Aug 2010 at 3:22 am

    […] Yuzu Old-Fashioned ((Bourbon, 08/25/2010, 08/26/2010) « Cocktail Chronicle: Red Cloud Cocktail Chronicle: Yuzu Friendly » […]

  2. […] Yuzu Old-Fashioned ((Bourbon, 08/25/2010, 08/26/2010) […]

  3. […] Yuzu Old-Fashioned ((Bourbon, 09/19/2010) […]

Leave a Reply

