Skip navigation

Corpse Reviver Number 2

August 15/16, 2010 (part of Cocktail Chronicle)

I never thought all those extra droppers that come with Hayden’s sodium fluoride supplement would one day come in handy, until now.

Two days ago, William gave me a new book In the Land of Cocktails, written by the proprietors of Commander’s Palace.

It is natural to assume that people down in New Orleans, practically the birthplace of cocktails, should know how to make a proper drink.

This one jumps out at me because I like how it treats Pernod: “ 9 small drips or 3 big drops”. And I have got just the right tool to administer drops.

Don’t get me wrong. I quite like Pernod, I just don’t want to taste only Pernod, unless it’s a Pastis, and it’s 80F outside, and I am in Provence. 

I halfed the lemon juice and used a little more Pernod from the original recipe. Complete personal preference. I like my drink a little stronger, and I like the Pernod just a tab more to the forefront.

Based on Corpse Reviver Number 2 from In the Land of Cocktails (Makes 2):

  • 1.5 oz (3 tbsp) Gin
  • 1.5 oz (3 tbsp) Grand Marnier
  • 0.75 oz (1.5 tbsp) lemon juice
  • 1.5 oz (3 tbsp) Lillet Blanc
  • 18 drips of Pernod if you have a dropper, or 6 drops if you use a straw
  • 2 maraschino cherry without stem

 

  1. Chill martini glasses
  2. Put all ingredients plus ice in a shaker. Shake, pour, drop the cherry, and serve.
3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Corpse Reviver Number 2 (Gin, 08/15/2010) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Drink du JourAn old Favourite « Pimientos de Padrón Cocktail Chronicle: Brandy Crusta » […]

  2. By Cocktail Chronicle « Sunnyvaleglutton's Blog on 19 Aug 2010 at 9:40 pm

    […] Corpse Reviver Number 2 (Gin, Lillet Blanc, 08/15/2010) […]

  3. […] Corpse Reviver Number 2 (Gin, Lillet Blanc, 08/15/2010) […]

Leave a Reply

